Loading Events

« All Events

Virtual Event Virtual Event
  • This event has passed.

AC Live Sessions

Recurring event see all
Virtual Event Virtual Event

June 9 @ 7:00 PM 8:00 PM EDT

$175 Registration is closed. Registered participants RSVP for sessions here.

Instructors:

407-758-4543

View Organizer Website

314-568-0236

You must be registered for the Advanced Certification course to RSVP for sessions.

If you are registered and see this message, log in to the account you used to register.

Advanced Certification Course

Live session schedule:

Live sessions are scheduled for Thursday evenings, April 21 through June 16. Sessions begin promptly (at 7 PM Eastern / 6 PM Central / 5 PM Mountain / 4 PM Pacific time).

Week 1: Introductions & Classroom Review

We’re eager to hear your “why” for pursuing advanced training. In this session, we’ll also review key content from Truth & Techniques of Traffic Cycling, CyclingSavvy’s classroom session.

Week 2: The Challenge We Face

It’s unfortunately all too common to see cyclists riding in ways that increase their risk. These cyclists unintentionally make their bicycling more difficult for themselves, and create frustration for motorists and other road users. We’ll focus this week on how to reframe the conversation about bicycling, and engage our audience.

Week 3: Data V. Perceptions

Safety is a product of behavior. After this session, you’ll understand how bicyclist behaviors exacerbate or mitigate crashes that are caused primarily by motorist mistakes.

Week 4: Definitions & Design Standards

The week for geeks! In this session you’ll gain an appreciation for transportation engineering, pavement markings, signs, signals and interchange designs – and how these make our lives easier as bicyclists.

Week 5: CyclingSavvy Strategies

Here’s where we dive into the toolkit of knowledge and strategies that set CyclingSavvy apart from its predecessors.

Week 6: Google Maps Is A Treasure

Discover how to maximize your use of Google Maps to analyze road configurations.

Weeks 7, 8 and 9: Elegant Solutions to “Impossible” Problems

For the last three sessions, you’ll partner online with another participant to tackle various motorist-centric road configurations. During these sessions, you’ll present and receive feedback on your strategies for riding on roads that truly are barriers to bicycling – unless you’re a savvy cyclist.